Abraham Rejoiced to See My Day: 11 Sermons Proclaiming Christ from the Life of Abraham


Jesus declares in John 8:56 that 'Your father Abraham rejoiced to see My day, and he saw it and was glad.' So Abraham saw Jesus. It's not just that Abraham heard about Jesus - He actually saw Him. (And the Jewish leaders Jesus was speaking to definitely understood it that way, for they start into a discussion about Jesus' age. In other words, they're trying to reject what Jesus has just said about Abraham seeing him by arguing that he's nowhere near old enough!)

Jesus is present in the book of Genesis. He appeared to Abraham. We find Him in Genesis in promises and patterns as well. Genesis is a book full of Jesus, so here are 11 sermons proclaiming Jesus from the life of Abraham in Genesis (plus one from the life of Isaac too).

Genesis 11:27-14:24  Jesus Promised, Patterned and Present to Sinful Abraham
Genesis 15  Justified by the Word of God
Genesis 16  Hagar meets Jesus
Genesis 17  Gospel Signs
Genesis 18-19  Who is this God?
Genesis 20  Law and Gospel in Gerar
Genesis 21  The LORD keeps His Word
Genesis 22  God will provide a Lamb
Genesis 23  Trusting in the God who raises the Dead
Genesis 24  A Bride for the Well-Beloved Son
Genesis 25  From Death to Life, From Barrenness to Fruitfulness

And then there's the one chapter of the Bible that Isaac gets all to himself...

Genesis 26 Isaac's Faith in Jesus

(P.S. You can find the sermons on the first 11 chapters of Genesis here.)

You Might Also Like


Blog Archive

The Tenets of the Apostolic Church

The Unity of the Godhead, and Trinity of the Persons therein.

The utter depravity of human nature, the necessity for repentance and regeneration and the eternal doom of the finally impenitent.

The virgin birth, sinless life, atoning death, triumphant resurrection, ascension, and abiding intercession of our Lord Jesus Christ; His second coming, and millennial reign upon earth.

Justification and Sanctification of the believer through the finished work of Christ.

The Baptism of the Holy Ghost for believers, with signs following.

The nine gifts of the Holy Ghost for the edification, exhortation and comfort of the Church, which is the body of Christ.

The Sacraments of Baptism by immersion and of the Lord's Supper.

The Divine inspiration and authority of the Holy Scriptures.

Church government by apostles, prophets, evangelists, pastors, teachers, elders and deacons.

The possibility of falling from grace.

The obligatory nature of tithes and offerings.